Pakistan announce squads for Asia Cup 2022, Netherlands ODIs

Fast bowler Hasan Ali is the major omission as Pakistan named strong squads for their upcoming ODIs against the Netherlands and the Asia Cup later this month. Naseem Shah has replaced Hasan, who is reported to be given a break from cricket at the highest level. Shah has played Test cricket and also has a hat-trick to his name, but is yet to don the national colours in ODIs and T20Is.

Shaheen Shah Afridi, who missed the second Test against Sri Lanka due to injury, has been named in both squads. Babar Azam is set to lead both the squads. Salman Ali Agha has also been recalled to the ODI team after he performed to expectations in domestic tournaments.

“We have only made changes that were necessary. Both the competitions are important for us and, as such, we have picked our best available players in consultation with the captain and head coach,” Chief selector Muhammad Wasim was quoted as saying.

“Hasan has been given a break from international cricket and he has been replaced by Naseem Shah. He is express fast and can give further impetus to the fast bowling department, which already boasts Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shahnawaz Dahani. Naseem has not played any international white-ball cricket, but he has demonstrated with the red-ball that he is an attacking option with good pace and controlled swing,” he stated.

“Salman Ali Agha has been recalled to the ODI side after he performed well in the past two Pakistan Cup tournaments, averaging 40.33 and 48.8, respectively. He also gives Babar Azam an additional bowling option,” Wasim added.

Pakistan are scheduled to start their Asia Cup campaign on August 28 against India at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. Prior to that, they will lock horns with the Netherlands in three rescheduled ODIs at Hazelaarweg in Rotterdam.

Pakistan squad for Netherlands ODIs

Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Zahid Mehmood

Pakistan squad for Asia Cup

Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir

— ENDS —

Source link

Leave a Comment